SokoFrog Review

Eastasiasoft are the masters of short games. I have lost count of the amount they have published, yet here I am again with their latest short game, SokoFrog, a Sokoban-style game with a frog from developer Solluco. It is simple, short and doles out achievements like they are flies for the frog to eat.  

SokoFrog is a simple game with not much to it. Your goal is to move a block with a shape on it to a spot with that same shape, which opens a door; that’s it. The further you go, the harder it gets, with new hazards to stop you, but that’s as far as it goes in the complication department. The controls stay the same, and your goal throughout is the same; this may sound like a problem, but on the contrary, it’s not. With such a simple play style, it lends itself well to mindlessly playing.  

Eventually, the puzzles got a tad harder, but not that hard that it would have you scratching your head for hours, which I didn’t mind. Don’t get me wrong; I like a good challenging puzzle, but sometimes an easy puzzle game is the way to go. 

If there was one thing I didn’t like about SokoFrog, it would be the music. It wasn’t the worst music in a game; it just didn’t suit the game’s vibe; I forgot there was music and listened to something else while playing. Not that that’s a bad thing because I could still enjoy the game. Sometimes, it is relaxing to play a game like this, even if it feels mindless and easy. I also enjoyed that the achievements would unlock after every four levels.  

I enjoyed my time with SokoFrog, and it filled that itch I have sometimes when I just want something short and mindless to play. For two hours plus of gameplay, it is worth the price, and it is great for beginners.  

SokoFrog is now available on PS4/5, Switch and Xbox console; it is also available on PC. Eastasiasoft provided a code for review.  

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Syndicate Y

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading